Support

Difference between public and private videos

In musical.ly, videos are divided into two categories:

1. Public videos

Public videos are uploaded to our server and will not be deleted even after you uninstall the app. They can be viewed by other users as long as you set the account as public under the app settings. If you set your account as private, only your fans can view your public videos.

2. Private videos

To ensure your privacy, private videos have been designed to be stored in your local device only and will be deleted once you uninstall our app. They can be found in a folder named "privates" under your profile page and can only be viewed by yourself.

Since they are not stored in our server, please make sure you have saved all your private videos to camera roll/gallery before uninstalling our app.

After saving them, you can retrieve your privates from the camera roll and post them in musical.ly.

Have more questions? Submit a request